Comic Strip

Thumbnail 2050
Thumbnail 2054

The Marvel Cinematic Universe, which includes characters like Iron Man, Captain America and Black Panther, is the largest franchise in the film’s history, followed by “Star Wars”.

The Marvel Film Universe - or MCU for short - is home to 22 comic book characters.

Each film is a story in itself, but the plot is also intertwined, to cover a much broader story. This is a technique that Marvel veteran Stan Lee also used when writing screenplays for comics.

Have you thought about watching all the Marvel movies at once? If so, we suggest that you look at them chronologically, but not according to the date of the premiere, but according to the action that takes place in the films in order to create one whole of 23 films.

This is the chronological order of watching Marvel movies:

Captain America: The First Avenger (happening during World War II)

Captain Marvel (happening 1995)

Iron Man (happening 2010)

Iron Man 2 (happens after the movie Iron Man)

The Incredible Hulk (time not defined, before Avenger) * if you don't have to, we suggest you skip this movie. :)

Thor (happens six months before Avenger)

The Avengers (happening 2012)

Iron Man 3 (happens six months after the first Avengers and the attack on New York)

Thor: Dark World (happens after the attack on New York, and before Ultron)

Captain America: Winter Soldier (happens after the attack on New York, and before Ultron)

Guardians of the Galaxy (happening 2014)

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (happens after the first part)

Avengers: Age of Ultron (happening 2015)

Ant-Man (happening 2015)

Captain America: Civil War (takes place after Ultron, and before Infinity War)

Spider-Man: Homecoming (happens after Civil War, and before Infinity War)

Doctor Strange (happening 2016)

Black Panther (happening 2017)

Thor: Ragnarok (happens after Ultron, and before Infinity War)

Avengers: Infinity War (happening 2017)

Ant-Man and The Wasp (ambiguous, but fits nicely between Infinity War and Endgame)

Avengers: Endgame (starts 2017, ends 2022)

Spider-Man: Far From Home (happens after Endgame)